Wicked weekend

May 2, 2010 at 21:29 (Uncategorized)

No rest for the wicked in the world of Darren Shan this weekend!!! My flight to London on Friday was slightly delayed, so it was well after 01.00 before I got to bed. In the morning I walked up to Waterstones Picadilly for a public signing. The weather was bad, and the transport services were severely disrupted because of a May Day demonstration, so we didn’t get a massive crowd, but it was still a good turnout and I was signing for two and a quarter hours. After that (and a tasty lunch in TGI Fridays!) it was on to Wanstead for a public event. The event had sold out, but 25 or 30 people didn’t turn up, most likely because of the weather, so the crowd ran to about 130. It was my first public event of the tour and I had lots of fun at it — I read out an extract from “Procession of the Dead” for the first time ever. I was quite pleased with how it went, though the accent I picked for The Cardinal didn’t work as well as I hoped, so I’ll change that next time — it sometimes takes a few readings for me to really peg a voice. I was signing for an hour and a half afterwards, then home.

On Sunday I drove up to Milton Keynes for the largest signing of the tour so far. I was signing straight for 4 hours, then signed stock and books for some latecomers for another half an hour. That pretty much account for all of my Sunday!!! Got back to my flat about 6.00pm. Had a bit to eat and watched some TV, including an interesting programme about Andy Warhol on BBC. Now I’m off to bed ahead of my double-hitter in Southampton and Bournemouth on Bank Holiday Monday — the tour rolls on!!!!

5 Comments

  1. Bella Baltierra said,

    hi master shan,

    i was wondering if Bas got home safely..? i know she was supposed to arive back home on friday. im glad you’re having fun!
    -bella

  2. Miley said,

    I hate it when flights get delayed-it’s one of the many things that annoy me.

  3. James Thomas said,

    Hi, Again, Lord Shan. ;]
    I was in WaterStones (In Merry Hill), the other day, and I saw another book by you (Under the Name: D. B Shan, I think it was), called “Procession of the Dead.”
    Then, I came on here, as I always do, and saw you’d written about it in these comments…
    Several questions stirred up inside me, urging me to ask them, so here goes:
    1). I only knew of the Demonata Saga, the Saga of Darren Shan, and the Thin Executioner Series, (And possible thoughts on The Saga of Larten Crepsley <3), and I was wondering… How many books/series have you written, and what're they called, because I'd really love to read them; Your work is AMAZING!
    2). How come you decided to use "D. B. Shan" for the Authors Name in the "Procession of the Dead" series?
    3). And Finally (I've asked this before, but had no reply), are you going to be coming up Near Merry Hill / Stourbridge / Wollaston / Amblecote / Anywhere near these areas (If you know where they are), because I'd really like to come to your Book Signings…!? :/ 🙂

    Until Next time,
    -A Shanster in Training; James Thomas. 🙂

  4. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi, Darren.

    By the sounds of it you have been very busy! I know I’ve loved coming to some of your signings, as I’m sure your other fans have enjoyed it just as much. And of course we appreciate that you take the time to do all these tours and give your fans the chance to meet you.

    Take care, Darren. Good luck on the rest of your tour.

    From your huge fan, Kathryn Winstanley.

  5. James Thomas said,

    Hi, Again, Lord Shan. ;]
    I was in WaterStones (In Merry Hill), the other day, and I saw another book by you (Under the Name: D. B Shan, I think it was), called “Procession of the Dead.”
    Then, I came on here, as I always do, and saw you’d written about it in these comments…
    Several questions stirred up inside me, urging me to ask them, so here goes:
    1). I only knew of the Demonata Saga, the Saga of Darren Shan, and the Thin Executioner Series, (And possible thoughts on The Saga of Larten Crepsley <3), and I was wondering… How many books/series have you written, and what're they called, because I'd really love to read them; Your work is AMAZING!
    2). How come you decided to use "D. B. Shan" for the Authors Name in the "Procession of the Dead" series?
    3). And Finally (I've asked this before, but had no reply), are you going to be coming up Near Merry Hill / Stourbridge / Wollaston / Amblecote / Anywhere near these areas (If you know where they are), because I'd really like to come to your Book Signings…!? :/

    Also, it's always made me wonder, how does a proffesional writer, such as yourself, come up with ideas for Characters (Their Names in particular), and a base story line…
    These are the general traits I tend to struggle with.
    It'd be great to hear your answers.
    Until Next time,
    -A Shanster in Training; James Thomas.

    (Sorry for posting this twice, but I had to make some changes) :/

Leave a Reply

