Homeward bound… slowly!!!

April 19, 2010 at 19:19 (1)

Had another fabulous day at football on Saturday — we beat Chelsea 2-1!!! Historically Spurs fans have never been that bothered about Chelsea — for a very long time they were never more than an average team, and we beat them more often than not. But the tables turned in the 1990s, when we hit a long-lasting slump and they found investors to pump loads of money into the club. For years, we became their whipping boys. That’s changed in the last few seasons, and we’ve been started beating and drawing with them quite regularly again. But they’re still one of the best teams in the league, and having had to work so hard against Arsenal mid-week, I don’t think any of us truly believed that we could beat another of the Big 3 teams. But we were even stronger on Saturday than during the week, and should actually have won more easily, by 3 or 4 goals!!! Football is a strange old game…

I was supposed to meet up with my Taiwanese publisher and good friend Emily on Sunday, but she wasn’t able to fly to London because of the ash. So I slept in, then went for a nice walk up to Sothebys to have a look at art that is on display for an auction later in the week — as I’ve said before here, Sothebys and Christies are often just as great a place to visit as a regular art gallery. After a rest, I took my aunt Nora to the Menier Chocolate Factory to see “Educating Rita”. It was very good, though I probably preferred “Shirley Valentine” which I saw last week. Having said that, I had the chocolate beer there again, and that was just as tasty as it was before!!

I was meant to be flying back to Ireland on Monday, but the ash put paid to that plan. Instead I ended up booking to travel home by ferry. I used to make the ferry crossing six times (three return journeys) a year when I was at university in London, and I hated it!! I used to travel overnight, by bus either side of the crossing, and I often felt sick at sea. It’s been 17 years since I last braved the ferry!!! At least this time I’m travelling by train instead of bus, so that should be more comfortable, and the crossing is during the day, so I won’t lost any sleep. Still, I’d much rather be hopping on Ryanair and flying to Shannon in an hour!!! Oh well, I know there are many travellers far worse off than me (Bas among them — she’s stranded in Liberia, probably until Friday), stuck in hovels far from home, low on cash, perhaps with important business or family events to attend, with no easy way of returning. All things considered, my complaints are very minor indeed. But, hey, if you can’t moan a little on your own blog, where CAN you moan?!?!?

5 Comments

  1. Bella Baltierra said,

    i was going to email you and ask you if the ash affected you at all but this blog answered that question XD i was hoping it wouldnt put any dampers on your plans but apparently the volcanoe doesnt listen hehe. my dad is supposed to be flying into germany next monday so hopefuly it will all be cleared by then. i dont know if you read these comments but is the ash cloud visible? i live in california so i cant see it. well, hopefully it doesnt ruin any more of your plans Master Shan and stay safe πŸ˜€

  2. Stephanie said,

    thats assssssssssooooooooooommmmmmmmeeeeeeee! chocolate beer wicked πŸ˜€ really glad you had an amzing time πŸ˜€

    • emily rose said,

      8^)

  3. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi, Darren.

    Mmm, chocolate beer, sounds like a strange yet delicious combination!
    The ash certainly has caused a lot of problems for travellers. I hope Bas manages to get back home soon!

    Hope you have a great week, Darren.

    From your huge fan, Kathryn Winstanley.

  4. Maria said,

    chocolate beer????
    that’s awesome, never heard of it….

Leave a Reply

