Dreamy Dubai

March 19, 2010 at 10:45 (1)

Bas and I returned to Dubai on Wednesday morning for a short holiday. We’ve been having a lovely time, sunbathing, swimming, goofing around in the fabulous Aquaventure water park, and eating lots of good grub. Happy days!!! On St Patrick’s Day we went to the Irish Village, a pub beside a small pond, where they had bands playing outdoors — it was great fun, and packed with people from all sorts of countries. We did quite a bit of dancing and singing — my favourite bit was when one of the bands played “Blister on the Sun” by the Violent Femmes, one of my all-time fave songs!! Google or YouTube it if you’ve never heard it — you’ll be humming it for days to come!!!

Speaking of fave tunes, check out my latest favourite ever band and song on YouTube by clicking on this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAsUfWvIiXY I’ve a sneaky suspicion it might be a hoax, as it’s hard to imagine anyone being this deliciously awful if they were being serious — but hey, you never know!!! Whether it’s real or faked, I’ve been singing the chorus to myself all day, so awful or not, it’s certainly effective!!!!

Now I’m off to check out an art fair which is currently going on here, then we’re going to visit a food-tasting fair later on, and maybe catch Gary Rhodes in action!! In Dubai, just about anything can happen…

7 Comments

  1. Robert said,

    Now that you went to dubai , next time you must go to Tehran ( Iran ) .
    because we wait for this !
    thanks a lot .

  2. Bella said,

    i’m glad you’re having fun on your tour Master Shan. maybe next time you could visit California, i know a couple of fan girls (one of them is my grandma) that would love to meet you!!! i hope the rest of your tour is as fun.
    -bella

    • Sam said,

      I also hope Darren Shan comes to california. i love his bokks and hope he is writing much more.

  3. Ms. Yingling said,

    Sounds like fun. My students have a question– what books did YOU like to read when you were a teenager? Do you have a list posted somewhere? Thanks. My students LOVE your books.

  4. Miley said,

    My students are really interested in creepy things… I taught and presented the mummification process today on a model. Most of my students also started reading your Demonata series by now. (I have a lot of your books on my shelves) They think it’s almost as goof as Cirque Du Freak… I think these kids like horror-vampires, mummies, demons. I need to start teaching science to these kids… love you books, Darren! 😀

  5. niamh said,

    Hey Darren! It’s obvious you’re out of the country – crystal swing are all the rage at the mo – the mum was on Gerry Ryan this am , they’re going to be playing in the forum and cork’s opera house in may – so yes they are the real thing!! I had only heard about them, so it’s funny I ended up hearing them properly via your blog – written in Dubai !! Enjoy the rest of the tour, don’t get too sunburnt . . . N

  6. jaffa545 said,

    I don’t get the song…….
    But otherwise, I envy you up to ‘Happy days!’
    By the way, I’ve read the first 8 books of THE SAGA in 1 month!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s all folks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

