Have it YOUR way!!!

February 8, 2010 at 21:49 (1)

Started editing the second book of the new series. Call me an old-fashioned, bloodthirsty beast, but I think any book that starts with someone burning alive, the stench of melting human flesh thick in the air, just HAS to be a damn good read!!!!!!!

Received a very nice email from a fan called Luis in Mexico recently:

I just wanted to let you know that you are my inspiration to learn more english. I started to assist school in Hidalgo Texas when I was in fourth grade. I lived in Reynosa and I sitll do. Everyone laughed at me except for one or two people who understanded my pain. It was until I was on sixth grade when I found out about your books and began reading them. I improved my reading and got accepted into a program where thirty kids can take college credit by taking college classes. On seventh grade everybody started telling me to stop reading your books. I didn’t listen to them and I learned the most important lesson never let anyone choose what to do with your life. I am now on eight grade going to high school and am reading your demonata series. I hope that you’ll write back because if you do it would be the kindest thing anyone would do for me. So long Darren.

Luis has learnt something very important, which many people sadly never learn — to be truly happy in life, you need to do what makes YOU happy, not what makes other people happy. I mean, sure, we should all do what we can to please our parents, teachers, friends and other people who are important to us. But not if that makes us unhappy in the process. People laughed at me when I was younger and said that I wanted to be a writer. My parents were keen for me to chase my dream, but very worried for me too — they would have been far happier if I’d studied to be a teacher or doctor or lawyer, so that I could have been guaranteed a good career. But in life you have to listen to your heart. And it’s not just at the big, important times, like when you come to choose what job you want to do. The small choices — what books you want to read, what music you want to listen to, what clothes you want to wear — are all vital too. We can make of our lives whatever we want, or at least try our best to. And it can be a great, fascinating, thrilling, entertaining life… but only if we choose, only if we set out to make it so, only if we follow that paths that WE wish to tread.

noli illegitimi carborundum!!!!

8 Comments

  1. Suicy said,

    Wauw, Darren 🙂 Your words are beautiful! You understand exactly what happiness is ♥♥ I do recognize myself in your words.

    But the paths I love, are also the hard paths 😦 It’s not always easy to follow your dreams. There are many people around us who have other ideas about having a safe and good future. There are times I got tired from deffending myself.

    To everyone! Don’t lose yourself 🙂 You’ll really get unhappy in the future if you’ll ignore the true-YOU.

    It’s a good thing you became writer, Darren and not a doctor (like I’ll do.. grmbll). Because you are what you do 🙂 And you do it very well.

    Best wishes,

    Suicy

  2. Rajdeep Dhadwal said,

    YYEEEAAAHHH BBBOOOYYY-EEE

  3. Judy said,

    I have a question…

    Why don’t you ever come to Canada?
    Ehh….? ^^

  4. Ivor Bolton said,

    Great words of advice again, Darren ! … And how ? …

    I realised that because it is the 10th birthday of Cirque du Freak, I must have been reading it to the class for 10 years – so it’s our 10 birthday celebration too !!
    The kids who heard it first from me are 21 this year !
    No wonder I know it off by heart !

    How old does that make you feel !

    Ivor.

  5. Miley said,

    More inspiring words…. you just can’t stop, can you? 😉

  6. kimy said,

    oh my i just got a lecture about this at my school, but i think it means more coming from my favorite author 🙂

  7. rebecca said,

    hey darren in your bokks you said this all happened for real did it really?

  8. rebecca said,

    hey darren in your books you said this all happened for real did it really?

Leave a Reply

