What’s in a name?!?

December 8, 2009 at 22:43 (1)

Finished my latest edit of the first Mr Crepsley book yesterday, having written a couple of new chapters for it, and sent it in to my new editor, Nick, who has taken over from Stella. Fans have been asking me what the names of the books are, and I haven’t given any clues so far. One very good reason why I haven’t is that the titles have not yet been confirmed!! I’ve had working titles since the start, which I quite liked but which weren’t the most dramatic in the world. I suspected my publishers would look for more exciting titles, which has proved to be the case, so I didn’t want to load the decks against them by giving out names which we might ultimately not go with. Up until tonight, I was fighting to hold onto the original titles, since I couldn’t think of anything better, and liked the simplicity and neatness of them. Then, tonight, I was watching an old silent film called Blind Husbands (directed by Eric von Strohiem). It was interesting but far from brilliant, even though it was a major movie when first released in 1919. I found my mind wandering a bit while I was watching it, and by the end of the movie I had come up with four brand new titles!!! I’ve sent them in to Nick to see what he thinks. I suspect he’s going to like them and that we’ll end up going with them, or variations thereof. If so, I should be able to share the titles with you in the not-too-distant future…

I spent today adding a lot of fan art to my site. As usual, far too long has passed since I last added any — I always mean to update those pages every few months, but it never works out that way. It takes a long time to scan in the pictures, crop and re-size them, then name and upload them to my site. I got through more than I thought I would today, and should hopefully upload the rest of the current crop tomorrow (touch wood). If you sent any art to me over the last year or so, there’s a good chance it will appear on my site (I don’t add ALL the art which I receive, but I put most of it up), so head on over to www.darrenshan.com and check out the art pages in both the Vampire and Demons parts of the site, to see if YOUR art made the cut…

I’m heading out on the town with Pablo this Wednesday night, for our annual Christmas party!! So if you happen to be out and about in Limerick, and spot a slightly-the-worse-for-wear half-vampire and demon-master staggering around the streets, do me a favour — stick me in a cab and tell the driver not to stop until we hit the first entrance to Vampire Mountain!!!!!

6 Comments

  1. Zoe said,

    Hey darren
    Im a more than a little confused, WHAT IS THE MR. CREPSLEY BOOKS ANYWAYS!!! WHAT ARE THEY GOING TO BE ABOUT!!? probably Mr, Crepsley but WHAT!?

  2. Miley said,

    I can’t wait for the Mr.Crepsley books to come out! As soon as they come out I’m going to run to the nearest library and pick up a copy of the first book! Also, may I suggest you read “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins and the sequel “Catching Fire” if you have time? I read both if them… And they were actually quite good.

  3. powellruby said,

    I can’t wait!

    Anyway, when are they coming out in the USA?

  4. Katheryn said,

    hahaha i love your little joke about a worse for wear vampire and to send you to vampire mountain. classic!

    I managed to get the first two books on audio – cirque du freak and the vampires assistant… oMG I LOVE THE GUY WHO READS THEM! he is soooo funny!

    altho i am a bit disappointed that i cant find the audiobooks anywhere but amazon, and amazon are not cheap what-so-EVER!

    good luck with the crepsley books Mr Shan 😀
    xx

  5. Alice said,

    Wow… Mr. Crepsly books. Thats cool ^^’ He was always my favourite character from vampire saga.
    I hope they will be out soon…

  6. Ashten said,

    I can’t wait for the new Mr. Crepsley books! He is an amazing character, I even cried when he died! Even though he is fictional to me, it was so sad. Again, can’t wait for the new books… I just know they’ll be good. I hope you had fun writing them Darren.

Leave a Reply

