Ghost mail

November 25, 2009 at 22:21 (1)

I’ve been busy working on the latest edit of what will hopefully be my next adult book after City of the Snakes. I’ve been firing through 60 pages a day, so at this rate I should hopefully wrap up work on it before the end of the week. I think this is probably the most “killer concept” novel I’ve come up with to date! It’s a mix between a ghost story and a thriller, but you’re never quite sure which side of that divide the story is leaning towards, until you come to the last couple of chapters and everything is spread clean before you. It’s kind of like an M Night Shyamalan book full of twists (from back in the day when he made decent movies), only far darker than anything he ever came up with!! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it gets the green light from my publishers. If it does, I’ve got a feeling it might do pretty well for itself…

I’ve also been busy answering lots of fan mail. I fell behind on that front while out on tour and then moving house and then going off on holiday, so I’m trying hard to catch up. I answered 20 letters a couple of nights ago, and another 20 tonight. There’s still quite a large mound to plough through, but I’m getting there!! As always, if you’ve sent a letter to me any time recently, you WILL get a reply, but please be patient and sit tight!!! Also, I’ve got quite a lot of fan art to add to the site. I’m hoping to do this before the end of the year, but we’ll see — it’s very time-consuming, so it depends on whether or not I get a break between books at some point…

4 Comments

  1. Robbie said,

    Great ol’ blog there methinks Darren Shan. Please keep up what I view as good work by writing more soon please!!!!

  2. purpleduck560 said,

    Hello, Darren Shan. I’m your famous reader. When I was 10, I saw your book — The Saga of Darren Shan 1, Cirque Du Freak in a school library. It’s so interesting that I just couldn’t stop reading it. The next year, my family moved in to another city, so I went to another school. But I couldn’t find the second one — The Vampire’s Assistant in the library. I was really sad then.
    After 4 years, I found your book at school! I was so excited about that. Now, I finished all the 12 books just in about 3 weeks. I love your book so much!
    This is my first time to log in. Could you write more books, please? I’m sure that I’ll like all of them.

  3. Smog said,

    Are you adding more to SHANTA CLAUS this year? I hope so. Write more soon please!

  4. zack said,

    Darren Shan can i use your name in a book im writing its about a half werewolf i was gonna use your name as my friend who is a half vampire in the book i dont know alot about climax cause im only 14 in middle school

Leave a Reply

