HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

October 31, 2009 at 21:14 (1)

Hi everyone!! Sorry for the lack of updates over the last week, but I’m on holiday and haven’t had much computer time — I needed a break!!! But how could I let Halloween go by without logging on to wish a happy one to all of you guys?!? I’ve been having a fab time in Florida. The weather has been incredible, far hotter than it normally is this time of year, in the high 20s/90s. We’ve been on all the rides in Universal, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld, and visited Wet N Wild and Aquatica too. And tomorrow we’re off to Busch Garden — happy days!!!

The highlight for me was the Cirque Du Freak scare zone in the Halloween Haunted Nights at Universal. It looks amazing!!!! It’s in a really good part of the park, and seemed to be getting a great response the night we were there. It’s not really geared around scaring people a lot (apart from some menacing vampaneze), but instead gets people to pause and admire the sets and incredible make-up — these guys look a LOT like the actors in the film!!! I had my photo taken with most of the guys there, and will post those when I get back home. We’re going again tonight, for the final HHN this year, so watch out for me if you’re there!!!!

Speaking of the film, it hasn’t had the greatest of first weeks in the States, but it continues to pick up good reviews from fans critics (while still attracting some scorn from people who just don’t “get it”), and has grossed over $11,000,000 including ticket sales from a few other countries where it was released, so the news isn’t all gloom and doom — so pay no attention to anyone saying the series is dead and buried!!! It’s got its work cut out for it, there’s no doubt about that, but the possibility of there being a sequel is still very much alive and kicking. If the people who liked it keep convincing their friends to give it a go, and it does well in other countries, it can still make more than enough to convince Universal to green light a second movie. We just have to keep our fingers crossed — and keep plugging the film to anyone prepared to listen!!!!

On the books chart, the CDF series made a welcome re-entry on the New York Times Children’s Bestsellers chart at #8 this week — woohoo!!!! For me, this was far more important than the movie gross. Ive always said that the main reason I agreed to sell the movie rights to my books was to hopefully attract new readers. A movie is a great way of advertising your work, of introducing it to people who have never heard of you before. I’m always trying to find new fans, to spread my stories to as many people as possible, and a movie adaptation is a way of boosting the number of Shansters out there. It seems to be working, so whatever ultimately happens with the movie, it’s definitely been good for the books, and as I’ve said many times, that’s good for all of us — when the books do well, I stay in a position to write exactly the type of books that I want to write, and don’t have to do work-for-hire to pay my bills. As you guys know, I’m a writer who is always looking forward, moving on to new projects as soon as I wrap work on any particular series or book, and the continued success of my previous work makes it a hell of a lot easier for me to carry on doing what I want in the future.

15 Comments

  1. Robbie said,

    Great blog- happy halloween to you, glad movie is doing well and I say to ones who do not like it that each to eaches own sure. Please keep up what I view as very good work by writing more soon please!!!!

  2. jaredalert said,

    happy halloween can i ask you something
    are you going to make a new series i love your books

  3. Sarah McGovern said,

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN DARREN!

  4. Zoe said,

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN DARREN SHAN!!

    Im glad that you are having fun in Florda. I’ve been to bush gardens it is sooo much fun!!!
    I cant wait to go see the movie!

  5. Andrew said,

    Happy halloween!

    Seen the movie now, and although the story’s different I felt it worked and I really enjoyed it, and for once wasn’t disappointed in a film based on a book. Although I did wonder why the little people didn’t have big green eyes and masks over their mouths ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Great to hear that its picking up now ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Ayumi said,

    I love your Saga of Darren Shan series and I have loved it since my first year at secondary school!
    I still haven’t finished reading the Saga of Darren Shan series though in English.
    When I was in secondary school, I was reading them in Japanese (my mother language) and loved it so much, that I decided to read it in English now that I am a bit older and in my high school years.
    I’ve just finished reading the 10th book – Lake of Souls – and I thought that it was the most gruesome book in the series so far! But I still loved it.
    I am wondering if I should read the Demonata series or not because from the look of the front covers… they seem really scary!
    When I first heard that a film was coming out, I hurried onto my computer and watched the trailer and (to be very honest)I thought.. ‘oh my god, what on earth has that director done to a Darren Shan book!?’
    I thought that the film ruined the book first when I saw the trailer, but when the film finished, I thought that as a film, it was a pretty good one, so I really want the next film to come out!
    But to be very honest, it broke and stripped all my imagination!!! But hey, this is only my opinion, so I don’t try to get people to think my way so its okay. =)
    I just thought the interpretation was a bit too koo-koo and very bad, because in my head, Mr Crepsley was a scruffed up Hugh Grant!! Not that I’m a fan of the actor, but in my head I imagined him as Mr Crepsley. And I expected Darren to be a bit younger-looking but thats okay.
    But at the end, I thought the film was quite good. =)
    (Sorry for writing an essay, but I really wanted to tell you this xD)
    I can’t wait til I finish the series in English xD I LOVE YOUR BOOKS!!!!

  7. Cassandra said,

    Just wanted to say happy halloween, I loved the movie! I especially enjoyed the red tailed boa that was used, she was beautiful. Hope to see a sequel.

  8. Eli said,

    Happy Halloween! I actually turned 20 this Halloween. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just wanted to pop in and say I really enjoyed the movie! I brought my friend and little brother with me (my little brother still claims to be a number 1 shanster) and they both loved it as well! I really hope they do another one– I’ve been advertising the movie(and series) like crazy on my blog. Hope you have a great holiday in Florida (I used to live there!) and enjoy your time at Universal and Busch Gardens!

  9. steve said,

    Hey Darren,

    You are tormenting me here!!!! I live in Australia and want to see the movie SSSOOOOOO badly but it doesn’t come out till next year over here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I also am annoyed because Wolf Island hasn’t even come out over here yet!!!!!! Love you’re work and can’t wait for the rest of the demonata and the Crepsly series. The only bad thing about your;e books is that Juni was a bad dude(She was Cool),

    keep writing,

    Steve”Leopard”

  10. ุบุฒู„ said,

    he he he !
    he is steve leopard!
    ha ha ha !
    hi hi hi !
    ho ho ho !

    happy your holloweeeeeeen.
    we dont have holloween in Iran but i think you are very scary in the hoollooween party.
    hmmmmn….

    i wish you have a good holiday & h wish you writ fast, because i can’t wait further.

    qazal

  11. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi, Darren!

    Happy- late- Halloween! I’m glad you’re having a good time in Florida, you sure deserve it.
    Everyone I know including myself thinks you’re movie was brilliant, no matter what people say, you’ll definitly gain a lot of new fans to both the movies and the books.

    I hope you’re having a good holiday.
    From your big fan, Kathryn Winstanley.

  12. Sarah McGovern said,

    Greetings Darren

    Just come home from seeing CDF: TVA, though it was brilliant and though it is different from the books it works quite well, though I think the directors have made a bit of a mistake half revealing Mr Tiny’s real role so early on.

    All the best

    Sarah McGovern

  13. George Wood said,

    hey darren,
    just finished reading hell’s heroes for the 5th time, and i must say it is amazing =) thanks for such an engrossing series from start to finish =)
    im a big fan of yours and shanville monthly, so i’m looking forward to the november post =)

    regards
    George

  14. Natasha Graves said,

    hi!

    Your my favourite author of all time and I have to say that demon thief is the best book I have ever read.
    Glad to read that your holiday was great!
    And I hhave seen CDF:TVA I found it interesting the whole way through, i have not read the saga of darren shan so i had no idea what to expect, my brother has read the saga and said that it was nowhere near as good as the book. And he also sed it has given away parts of the plot from the later books in the series so I’m disaapointed in that.

    I would love to see a demonata film!
    yet that would be a bit gory on screen dont you think?!? and very expensive to make! but it would make an awesome film!!!!!

    cya

  15. Matt LeVeque said,

    Happy belated Halloween!

    Ever since I saw the movie trailer I wanted to read the Saga of Darren Shan, so I did and it’s amazing!! I love this series and I can’t wait to see the movie. And I can’t wait to read the Demonata!!!

    -Matt

Leave a Reply

