Nun the wiser

August 27, 2009 at 20:25 (1)

Spent the last couple of days in a convent. Heh — no, don’t worry, I’m not contemplating having a sex change and joining a nunnery!!!! Bas’ aunt, Mary, is a Carmelite nun. She has lived in an enclosed order for almost 50 years. We go to visit her a couple of times a year. She’s a hoot, not at all your typical nun — she likes to smoke and drink, loves the music of Johnny Cash and the books of Terry Pratchett, and has just developed an interest in John Barrowman!!!! It’s fascinating to get her take on the world, living as she does in what almost amounts to a parallel universe to ours!! We normally stay in a guest room attached to the convent, but they were taken this time, so we stayed at a hotel in a nearby village. On the one hand it was nice, as the guest rooms don’t have a TV, and I do like watching a bit of rubbish telly before bed!! On the other hand, I do like the quietness and reflectiveness of the convent rooms, and the novelty of not having a TV to watch…

Anyway, I’m back home now. After a busy morning spent catching up on emails, I popped into Limerick to do an interview for Spin FM radio. They were broadcasting from O’Mahony’s Bookshop, and I always like to support my local booksellers. It was a fun interview actually — radio show interviews are often a bit short and dull, since the interviewers normally haven’t read my books and don’t know much about me, but these guys had done their homework and asked some interesting, lively questions. I enjoyed myself on it!! I’m not sure whether or not they’re going to podcast it, but if they do, it will appear here: http://www.spin1038.com/podcasts/thespin.php

The first clip from the movie is now available on YouTube. It’s a short, 40 second clip of Darren fighting with Steve, and Mr Tiny features prominently in it too! The response from fans on my message board has actually been quite positive for a change — could this be the turning point, where fans of the books start to begrudgingly come round to the idea that the movie might actually be dark fun too?!? Only time will tell. In the meantime, you can check out the clip by CLICKING HERE.

7 Comments

  1. Robbie said,

    Great old stuff!!!!! Keep up the good work please Darren Shan and write more soon please!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Alex said,

    I would have preffered the movie to be a much more faithful adaptation of the books as well as a British cast, but I’ll have to wait and hope I’ll enjoy it as it is.

    Alex.

  3. Shan said,

    I think you should have played Darren, Darren.

  4. Karen said,

    Saw you on The Den when I was living in Ireland for the summer Darren – had never heard your accent before! I also remembered you saying you liked The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and wondered if you were excited to be on a show with John Boyne, heh. Really enjoyed the Q&A session and looking forward to seeing the film!

  5. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi Darren.

    I hope you had a good time visiting Bas’s Aunty.
    And I can’t wait to watch the clip of the movie! Unfortunatly I can’t watch it tonight, my laptops not loading things very well at the moment.
    But I’m glad you enjoyed the interview and it’s great fans seem to be liking the idea of a movie. I’m sure it’ll be really good and I know it’ll be interesting to see what it’s like! 🙂

    Take care, Darren. I hope you have a good weekend.

    From your big fan, Kathryn.

  6. Sarah McGovern said,

    Clip reaction: Oooooooo O_O If I wasn’t already excited about the film, that would have just done it, now I can’t wait to see it : D

  7. (Best Show)Watch said,

    1) I’d like your permission to (re)print your article on Flight of the conchords
    for our website

    2) I was hoping we could use your ‘scribing’ talent for our website.

    The Best Shows Youre Not Watching (dot) com [all one word]

    ‘The Clone Wars’ is one of our featured shows. We’re hoping to round up a few people who can occasionally contribute perspective (via an article/blog) on the shows – maybe a recent episode, future direction, plot shortcomings etc.

    What’s in it for you?
    Primarily a larger audience back channeled to your blog. We don’t pay but the site has a lot of promise and we’re pretty excited about getting it off the ground. Let me know what you think.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

