Marathon session!!

August 18, 2009 at 18:37 (1)

Phew!!! I meant to write a nice long blog today, but I reckoned without the hordes of Shansters who descended upon me at the book fair!! My event was at 10.00, which I thought was a bit too early — I couldn’t see many people climbing out of bed to see me, especially as this was my 10th year at the Festival and quite a few of them would have seen me in action before!!! Also, many schools in Scotland started back today, so I thought that would impact on numbers too. I was hoping for maybe 300 people (the tent I was in holds 500 or thereabouts). But to my delight, I got a full house!!!! Then, after my event, most of those stayed to have their books signed — normally, when I do a later event, a lot of people have to leave to go for dinner, get home, etc. But the early time actually worked in our favour today, and most of the crowd were able to stay on — which meant I was signing for four hours!!!!! Exhausting, but exhilarating at the same time!!! The perfect way to mark my 10th festival in a row!!

During the event, I revealed for the first time that the title for my next, one-off fantasy book is called…

THE THIN EXECUTIONER.

I also revealed, officially, that the four-book series which follows will be about…

MR CREPSLEY!!!

The books will cover his life before he met Darren, from when he was a young boy, up until when he ran into Darren at the Cirque Du Freak. It will fill in all the blanks, explain how and why he became a vampire, why he turned down the chance to become a Prince, why he withdrew from the clan, and the women he loved (Arra Sails was only one of the great loves of his life — there were others!!).

I’ll be talking a lot more about the new books over the months to come, and I’ll also be talking about all of the shows I’ve seen at the Festival, but right now Im absolutely knackered, and I have to go to a show, so I’m going to cut this short and finish with a snappy, See you later, alligator!!!!

16 Comments

  1. Robbie said,

    Cool blog. I am happy to know that batch of news. Keep up the good work and write more soon please!!!

  2. Rajdeep Dhadwal said,

    Awesome news!!! Can’t wait for the Crepsley book!

  3. Daniel said,

    Wooo!!! Crepsley books!!! Shweeeet!!! I love that bloke. And I especially love vampire mountain. For some reason I have a major soft spot for it 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about larten and seba, that will be awesome!!!! I’m so chuffed you decided to write this. I can’t wait for it, I’m just gutted it’s so far away. But hey, it’s happy days in the world of the Shan Man and his fans.

  4. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi Darren!

    Wow! Sounds like you had a busy day. I’m sure the fans were all thrilled to see you though. And I hope you enjoyed it!
    I’m really looking forward to reading your new books.
    It’ll be great to know more about Mr Crepsley!!
    Take care, Darren. Hope you have a nice day.

    From your big fan, Kathryn.

  5. Kenneth said,

    Can’t wait for your new book!

  6. Emma said,

    I’m absolutely ecstatic about the Mr Crepsley books!!! I can’t wait! And the one-off fantasy book! Reading this has made my day 🙂

  7. Miku said,

    HOORAY!! That’s AWESOME! I can’t wait to read the stories about that orange haired vampire of ours! 🙂

  8. Ray said,

    Ah, great news! I can’t wait to read the books you announced!

  9. Darren Shan nyheter « Alta bibliotek said,

    […] nå avsluttet etter 12 bøker. Men han har ikke tenkt å forlate vampyrene riktig ennå og har i bloggen sin sagt at han jobber med en serie om Mr. Crepsley. Disse fire bøkene vil ta for seg livet til […]

  10. غزل said,

    i don’t know why you protract your books.i can’t sawy you.

  11. Aysha said,

    Hey Darren! I am so happy and glad to hear that your writing a series about Mr.Crepsley!!! Can’t wait to read it! And The Thin Executioner! It’s gonna be awesome to hear how Crepsley grew up!! Can’t Wait!!

    Your Fan ,
    Aysha

  12. Maisie said,

    i can’t wait to read those new books on Mr.Crepsley i wonder when your gonna start selling them

  13. Darren Shan nyheter « Alta bibliotek -barn og ungdom said,

    […] nå avsluttet etter 12 bøker. Men han har ikke tenkt å forlate vampyrene riktig ennå og har i bloggen sin sagt at han jobber med en serie om Mr. Crepsley. Disse fire bøkene vil ta for seg livet til […]

  14. Darren Shan nyheter « Sonen said,

    […] nå avsluttet etter 12 bøker. Men han har ikke tenkt å forlate vampyrene riktig ennå og har i bloggen sin sagt at han jobber med en serie om Mr. Crepsley. Disse fire bøkene vil ta for seg livet til […]

  15. laury said,

    i would like so much to read the new books!!!!
    i like a lot mr. Crepsley!!!!!
    you´re awesome Darren!!!

  16. Darren Shan nyheter « Alta bibliotek anbefaler! said,

    […] nå avsluttet etter 12 bøker. Men han har ikke tenkt å forlate vampyrene riktig ennå og har i bloggen sin sagt at han jobber med en serie om Mr. Crepsley. Disse fire bøkene vil ta for seg livet til […]

Leave a Reply

