Buzzing along nicely

May 7, 2010 at 21:11 (Uncategorized)

The tour has been buzzing along nicely. I did a lunchtime signing in Nottingham on Thursday. Most kids were at school — the reason we did a signing rather than a schools event was because of the election in the UK, which meant some schools were closed.  Even though many of my fans weren’t able to come because of school, lots of fans sent their parents, or even grandparents, so I was signing for an hour and a half!! I then went to Boston in Lincolnshire, where I did a public event for 150 kids in a really cool theatre. I was signing for 2 and a half hours afterwards.

Today I did a school event in Cambridge. I had been supposed to do an event in the Cambridge Union Society Debating Chamber for students from 10 schools — but that fell through when 8 of the schools canceled for various reasons!!! Luckily, the staff of Heffers in Cambridge were able to arrange for me to go into Linton Village College, where I did a fun event for 200 or so kids. I signed for an hour after that, then headed on to Bury St Edmunds, where I did a signing in Waterstones. A good crowd turned up, and I signed for an hour and a quarter, then stayed on and signed LOTS of stock too! Now I’m in my hotel room, resting up and enjoying a rare night of down time. Only 3 days left of the tour — it’s flown by!!! If you want to catch me during my last few days, I’m doing a public signing in Chelmsford on Saturday in WHSmith at 11.30… my last public event is in Alleyn’s School in London on Saturday at 4.00pm, and there are still tickets left… I’m signing in Foyles Westfield in London on Sunday at 1.30pm… I’m at the Oxford Union Society on Sunday at 8.00pm, but that’s only open to members… I’m doing a schools event in Leicester on Monday… then my final signing in Birmingham at 4.30pm Monday in Waterstones, 24-26 High Street (I might try to start a bit earlier if I can get there before that). For more details, check out the Shanville Monthly or Events section on www.darrenshan.com

3 Comments

  1. James Thomas said,

    D:

    You’re not coming any where near my area… :\
    That’s a Shame. Last time you came to Merry Hill and my school, but I was unable to go to both…
    Well, I guess I’ll have to wait yet Another Year until I get signings.

    Anyway, Hope you’re enjoying these tours…
    Looking forward to reading the Thin Executioner; I brought it today.

    See ya’ next signing… I hope.
    -James.

  2. Barry Hutchison said,

    I’ve heard great things about your events, Darren. Hope I get a chance to catch one someday. Good luck with the rest of the tour. I’m off for my first one in just over a week. Can’t wait.

  3. Kathryn Winstanley said,

    Hi Darren,

    Great news to hear the tours gone well up to now. It sounds like you’ve been busy, I think, when the tour is over, a holiday will be in order!

    I hope that you enjoy the rest of the tour, all the best, Darren. Take care.

    From your big fan, Kathryn Winstanley.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

